Awarded degrees

Leiden University offers both one and two-year master’s by coursework programmes, as well as two-year research master’s. Upon succesfull completion of the programme the awarded degree is a

  • Master of Arts (MA),
  • Master of Science (MSc) or
  • Master of Laws (LL.M.)

Master of Arts

All master’s programmes in the arts, theology and philosophy as well as cultural anthropology give the successful candidate the degree of Master of Arts.

Master of Science

All master’s programmes in the sciences, biomedical sciences and most social sciences lead to the title of Master of Science.

Master of Laws (LL.M. or “Legum Magister”)

Graduates from the Master’s programmes in Law are awarded the Master of Laws degree; such graduates are then entitled to use the title ‘LL.M.’, which stands for the Latin term Legum Magister. The degree awarded for the Criminology programmes is that of Master of Science (MSc).

Find your master's at Leiden University